On a Personal Note: Making the Initiative

I’ve read in Seventeen, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Lucky, and these various female magazines that men would prefer if a woman approached them. In my personal experience, a confident and secure woman could possibly scare a man/boy. I have no problem approaching a guy because it will only give me more experience. However, I think most of the guys I have approached are somewhat dumbfounded when a  female approaches them.

If you met me a year ago, I loved making the first move and taking the initiative. Then I came to a sad conclusion: chivalry is dead and sometimes it is up to the female to make the initiative.The 21st century is creating a new breed of women: strong, confident, and intellectual women who can stand on their own two feet. I would not be surprised if women were becoming the new ‘players.’ Back to what I was saying, chivalry is dead. As a female, I’m tired of waiting by my phone and checking my facebook to see if that person will return my message. I’m used to making the first move or even making the first call, but I’m tired of doing that because its tiring. Honestly, I’m tired of planning the date because the guy lacks imagination. or the best part, I’m tired of paying for myself and my date.

My advice to my lady friends: if you meet a guy and you two exchange numbers, let him call you. If he is really interested in you, he’d make the initiative. My brother always advised me that if a girl calls a guy, she looks desperate. My brother knows I like to make the first move, but he’s been telling me to act more of a lady instead of a guy because ‘guys are supposed to make the first move, not girls.’

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in Taking Charge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

