A Lesson From Big Brother

Yesterday, I somewhat got overanxious and overexcited that I received a text message from a guy I met over the weekend. Previously, my brother told me that he wants me to stop making the first move with guys…., but I did not listen to him and started texting the guy. But then, I started to get worried. I starting to overthink and wondered “when should I text him back,” “should I call him,” or ” Why did it take him so long to call me back?”

I absolutely ignored what I wrote in my previous blog about waiting for a guy to make the first move. I LOVE making the first move. I called my brother and told him the situation. This is what he told me:

” I know you. I know how you are. You’re the type of person who will fight for what she wants and put in 100% into something if you are really interested. I can tell you really like this guy, but there are better guys out there.”

I was really confused to why he was saying this to me. I asked him to clarify what he had meant. Basically, he told me that this guy did not meet the big brother approval. I should provide some context about the guy I met: he’s from Vegas, I live about 6 hours away from him, we hung out this weekend, and he was fun to talk to.

” It seems like you met a nice guy. But He’s a guy. A Guy is supposed to call you. A Guy is supposed to impress you. A Guy is supposed to make the first move, not the girl. Thats why you’re a girl. Thats how you know if a guy is worth it, if he contacts you first.”

I understood why he was saying. He was saying that as a female, I shouldn’t be always making the first move. Its the guys responsibility.

“Without a doubt, you’ll find a great guy. This guy….he didn’t even text you first or call you. He’s supposed to be impressing you, not the other way around. You’re a great girl and this guy is not for you. He seems like someone who will just be a friend. You’re gonna get hurt if you try to meet his expectations and not your own. “

My brother was right. I decided to not be interested in Vegas guy anymore. He’s a sweet person, but honestly, I do not want to be the one initiating anything. Maybe its a good thing that I am a girl. Its good to make a bad decision, because with bad decisions you can learn and move on. There are other guys out there. I’m still young. Maybe he is out there.

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in Lessons I've Learned, Technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

