Long Distance Relationships

Last year, I was really into a guy *Derek. We talked on the phone, texted, webcammed, etc. almost everyday. Eventually, we both liked each other. The problem was he lived in Los Angeles, and I lived elsewhere. When he first told me he was interested in me, he said that he couldn’t be in a relationship with me because he wanted to concentrate on himself and that I lived too far. I laughed because no matter if there was distance, I knew we could make it work. I’m a realist and I think as long as two people are willing to make it work, we could both meet each other. I was wrong.I planned on meeting Derek in Los Angeles and even bought a train ticket, but he wasn’t planning on meeting me in my hometown.

My big brothers told me that I should never have to go visit a guy in another city, he should come visit me. If a guy travels to come see you, then he’s worth your time. He also advised me that I should never meet a guy in the middle. Don’t chase a guy. Let the guy chase you. If he won’t come down to see you first, then he isn’t that into you. Exception: If a guy pays for your ticket to go see him, then I say he’s worth it.

I guess the lesson to my story is that if you want long distance to work, both of you have to be really into each other.That you would know that he’d come to visit you not vice versa.

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in Lessons I've Learned and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

