I Got Stood Up…Again

I got stood up, but at least he texted to let me know he would not be able to go.  I am referring to the guy who stood me up for the first time. In my recent posts, I talked about this guy who stood me up. A second time I said lets meet for coffee.

I showed up at Starbucks at 6pm. I had been starving because I had a long work day with no break. I waited toward the side in plain sight of the doorway. He had texted me earlier that day, but he does not listen. Note: at my job, I am required to turn off my cell phone because it “interferes” with my job and can possibly “distract others.” I turn it off everytime and I never check it unless I am on my break. I told him this numerous times and he complained that I was “not nexting back.” I waited for him. Around 6:07pm I get a text message. His uncle is unable to drive him. He asks me to come over to his house to come and hang out. I said no.

I know many of you are wondering, why? I do not know this guy. I will never go to a guy’s house if I barley know him. It does not work like that. Nowadays the world is full of Ted Bundys and Amy Fishers. He then asked me to go pick him up so we could hang out. I said no again. I told him, ” I do not feel comfortable picking you up or hanging our at your house because I barely know you.” I left the coffee shop and proceeded with new plans. Around 7pm he texted me again asking if i was free, but his time had already passed. I gave him a chance. I know its not his fault, but I’m putting my foot down. He later texted me complaining I was too busy. My argument: I have a job. I work 40 hours a week. Unfortunately, I am free only at night or on the weekends.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

The moral to the story: Don’t chase someone who frustrates you and makes you adjust your schedule/cancel your plans just so you two can hang out. Chances are that if its frustrating now, it will be frustrating later.

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in Lessons I've Learned and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

