The Teacher

Sometimes the people you date become part of your closest circle. I dated a guy last year whom I call the Teacher. Why? Because his goal in life is to become an educator and to create some change within a adolescent’s life. He does not mind teaching in urban areas or in low income areas. His biggest motivation – the kids he teaches.

When people say you can’t be friends with your ex, it might be for some, but I try to maintain some contact and/or closeness with anyone I have dated. I try to ensure my friendships with those I did care about at one point in my life.

The Teacher and I converse now and then. He’s my biggest cheerleader always advocating I make the best choices in life and take a few risks here and there. I find it surprising that he is now close to me and I hope vice-versa. I will always care about him, but I will not go out with him again for other reasons. The Teacher has always advocated that I try to be the best me I could possibly be.

He tells me ” I want you to date a man, not a boy.”

When I asked him ” are you a man then?” In response he told me, ” I messed up with you. There were some things I should not have done, but I did anyway.” In other words, he knew I deserved better.

I learn a lot from this individual. I’m glad I have met you and that you are part of my life.

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

