A Non-Date/Hangout with Aaron

I find friend zone situations always difficult to manage. Why? There is a theory that men and women can have a friendship with no sexual or relationship innuendos. However, its always difficult to put this theory aside when in fact, you have feelings for the other person. In my case, I find my cute friend Aaron very attractive.

I went out on a non-date with Aaron, a friend of mine who has put me into the friend zone. Aaron is a wonderful guy: cares about his family (especially his mom), responsible, and will cut to the chase. He does not like drama and wants to find his soul mate in life. He’s ideally the perfect guy for me, but Aaron has made it clear to me that he only sees me as a friend. I had tried detaching myself everyway possible from him, but my friends told me to give him a chance to see if there was a possibility we could just be friends and to find a way to co-exist with my feelings. After attempting to delete him on facebook, he added me again. After blocking him, he called me.

Yesterday, Aaron called me and asked me to hang out with a group of friends. I was the only one that fell through. Aaron commented about how I always fall through and commit with my plans.  I guess you can say that he knows he can rely on me. We reminisced of old times, updated each other on what we were doing in life, and what our current paths were headed. Aaron did check out girls in front of me and did bother me from time to time.

Things were put into perspective for me tonight.

1) I should not put my life on hold for a guy. If he does not dig me, then he does not. Its time to move on.

2) Its hard to be friends with a guy you used to like. Those feelings of being rejected and being in pain do come back to haunt us….but they come back as fear for the future and as a life lesson.

3) If you can be around someone that broke your heart, that’s one less thing that won’t kill you.

Things may not have worked out, but we can still be friends.

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in Lessons I've Learned and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

