Social Calling Cards

Tonight I went out to dinner with a group of friends of mine. I could not help but notice that one of the guys from the table across from us kept checking me out. Our eyes would meet, he would smile, I would smile back…then he left I waved goodbye to him. He stopped fully and gave me a full gesticulation that he was leaving the restaurant. I did the unlady like thing and ran up to a glass window where I showed him my social calling card. This is an example of what mine looks like:

Social Calling Card

I have a social calling card that I hand out in case I meet someone I would like to network with in the future and in the event that I meet a cute guy. It looks professional, clean, and very organized.

Nothing makes you stand out more when you have a calling card. I do not like writing my number on napkins or pieces of scrap paper because sometimes these get thrown away on accident and/or look sloppy at times.

I started using a calling card when I first started handing out my number. Sometimes you see a cute guy and I hate scribbling down my info on napkins. I tried using post-its, note cards, and at one point I used a card from a deck of cards. Using a deck of cards as a calling card was a great idea. I gave a guy the card, an 10 of Hearts. He was pretty excited and he kept it in his wallet.

Eventually, I heard from mutual friends that he would show people the card I gave to him. He thought I was calling him a perfect 10. It was a great and fabulous idea…but I did not want to continue using a deck of cards.

Vistaprint.com offers greats business cards that you can use as social calling cards. I paid $20 for a pack of 50. I also purchased an id case for ‘wow’ purposes.

Some information to think about putting on your social calling card:

* Name

*Number

*Email to contact you at

Some Social Cards I have seen list facebook, twitter, and/or other websites in case you are showing off a portfolio.

Note: I would only get it one-sided. Keep the other side blank in case you want to write a message.

Have fun with this. Hopefully this inspires you to get a social calling card.

About Phoenix

This is a twitter/tumblr collaborative project where a 20something year old female attempts to find events and things to do in SD. Because I am a student, I will try to find things to do on a budget, for free, and/or costly.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

